Almost in sight!

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by genius writer Neil Gaiman is almost here! In a rush of excitement (and Twitter-fueled love), I preordered and downloaded the sneak peek on my Kindle. The ‘preview’ includes a short story by Gaiman, ‘How to Talk to Girls at Parties’, previously published in Fragile Things and four short chapters from the upcoming novel.

Like any Gaiman book, it seems a little slow to start off, and there’s an atmosphere of something brewing, of forces greater than mortal ken can comprehend. I was hit with an American Gods flashback, actually, and you might see why when you read it.

It seems to be the done thing now, to release a sample chapter or two, toy with your readers and convince them that buying a piece of a book they are going to get anyway is the done thing. Tor did it with A Memory of Light, selling the Prologue for 2.99 dollars. And I will confess that I bought it, read the other two and a half chapters that were released a little later (for free) and then read everything again when the book was finally in my hands. So I’m a sucker for this kind of stuff. It’s embarrassing, a little.

At least Gaiman’s tidbit is free. So you’ll feel no shame in taking a sneak peek. Unless, of course, you’re the kind of person who won’t be able to rest in peace afterwards and keeps wondering, wondering, wondering what’s going to happen.

But the titillation is so worth it. Go ahead and download away!

Image

Yes, along with being an amazingly talented writer, he’s handsome. The man has it all. ALL.

3 thoughts on “Almost in sight!

  1. Just finished reading the preview myself, can’t wait to get my hands on the whole thing! And if it’s as good as American Gods, well. I might not be able to contain my excitement! I don’t think I could ever pay for preview chapters though, seems a bit wrong

  2. I pre-ordered a signed copy of this book. It cost me thirty dollars, but it’s *Neil Gaiman.* I can’t wait (but it also means I didn’t get the preview, which makes me sad and jealous). I may have to re-read some of his books just to contain my excitement.

Leave a Reply

