I got 25 minutes

Sorry, I should keep to house style and turn that into twenty five minutes.

I got twenty five minutes with the first episode of Season 3 of Game of Thrones. That’s it. But in that twenty five minutes I saw five different locations, thirteen recognizable characters (one new) and heard various strains of familiar melodies. In short, it was a jaunt into Westeros that left me stranded outside the walls of a keep (not telling you which), wondering what I had done to piss off the gods of technology.

I’m sure Neil Gaiman could come up with something. I will claim Muse credits for that novel. ‘Cyberspace Gods’, the third part of his deities-in-modern-life series.

What I saw was, of course, promising. There seemed to be a lot more talking than I’m used to in a TV show (um, given that I have filled my time between GOT seasons with a lot of Gossip Girl and reruns of the OC, this is not a surprise). There was, of course, the obligatory sexposition (which I very knowledgeably pointed out to my co-watcher), some screeching which could have come from either of the CGI-born (dragons or White Walkers), and pouty Jon Snow spouting profound and utterly spoofable lines.

I was home.

Now to just get through the hours until I can return my room, brew some Earl Grey in my trademark ‘Winter is Coming’ mug and hope the cyberspace gods have gotten over it, whatever ‘it’ was.

Image

Leave a Reply

