Game of Thrones season 3: trailer

By now I’m pretty sure most of the youtube-viewing and GOT anticipating world has seen the trailer for the third season. It’s a melange of images and characters, and some intriguing glimpses of what is to come. Also, it’s got a heady soundtrack accompaniment in the form of Ms Mr’s ‘Bones’, which I’ve been listening to on repeat for the past two days.

The trailer throws up a hell of a lot of questions, even for someone who’s read the books and has a fair idea of what to expect.

-Who is the ‘old friend’ Varys is speaking to in the opening? Tyrion? Master Illyrio? Littlefinger? The second and third seem rather doubtful–it’s in now way been a ‘long time’ since he spoke to them, since we have Littlefinger’s and Varys’s infamous repartee in Season 2 and the eunuch is the one who stows Tyrion away in a room after the Battle of Blackwater Bay. So who is it?

-Is it Melisandre who speaks of ‘death’ coming for ‘everyone and everything’? It’s been a year since I watched Season 2 (eeks, the horror), so I’ve sort of forgotten what her voice sounds like. I mean to go through both previous seasons before the third one premieres, so maybe I’ll have an answer to this speaker by then. Unless, of course, it’s a new character. In that case I’ll hazard a guess at Meera Reed.

-Where was Theon? Oh, right. We didn’t get him in this book. But, but, they had so much to tie up from the previous one! Are they going to premiere the hell-made-flesh Bastard of Bolton in this season? I’m not sure I’ll want to watch those scenes, anyway.

-Of course we had a sneak peek of more Catelyn chasing Robb scenes. It’s a trademark. As is Bran’s shooting an arrow.

-Where were Sansa and Arya? I can’t believe I got to point 4 before I realized they had been missing. Not to mention Shae, Rickon, Osha and DAVOS.

Hell, at least we got a glimpse of a growing dragon. And Dany has SHIPS! Not too long before she meets Barristan and Strong Belwas then.

Cersei looks as lovely as ever. And yay! Brienne is going to kick some ass very, very soon!

For the record, I am not one of those who ships Brienne/Jaime. I like them as platonic partners in crime. Let’s not look for romance everywhere. We saw where that got us with a strong female character in Harry Potter (coughTonkscough).

Over all, I think HBO has been very parsimonious with revealing the new characters. Way to build up the anticipation.

Winter had better get here SOON.

Leave a Reply

