Wolfstarved

Terrible pun of a title, but I really am starved for good, long fics on my favourite ship. I’ve been into the Remus/Sirius pairing for about two and a half years now, and I’m pretty sure I’ve read most of what’s out there- whether it be hosted on the elusive skyhawke, the more than bursting at the seams fanfiction.net or the erudite and snooty fictionalley chapters. I need me some Sirius fixings, it’s been too long since he graced my fanfiction-reads.

I got ‘into’ this pairing in my first year of postgrad, shortly after I re-read the last three Harry Potter books. When I was halfway through OoTP, I thought I saw subtext for Sirius/James and became convinced that Sirius was in (unrequited) love for James. I read some S/J fics, but couldn’t find all the many. And then I gave up the search because I was reading HBP and saw, you guessed it, subtext for Remus/Sirius.

You don’t need me to lay out why I ship this pairing. There are wonderfully well written manifestos that will give you reasons, so let me just link you to one.

In my nascent Sirius/Remus fangirling, I read the best, the brightest, the most BRILLIANT Harry Potter fanfic I have EVER, EVER read: The Shoebox Project.

(Full scale review coming some day.)

And that was IT. I was hooked to the pairing. I read everything I could get my hands on: oneshots, drabbles, chaptered romance fics, coming out fics, angsty post-Azkaban Sirius fics, AUs where Lupin didn’t even go to Hogwarts or Sirius was a Muggleborn, EVERYTHING. And I think, in my enthusiasm, I read it all up.

And now my definition of a good day is when I find a long, well written, original Sirius/Remus fic that I haven’t read before. This after I bragged to a friend that my OTP was the best because there was never going to be a dearth of good fics on the internet.

Oh, well. Sometimes we really have to eat our words. But if anyone finds anything Sirius/Remus related that looks like it’ll be a good read, please do share it here. I’ll make sure to do the same from now on.

3 thoughts on “Wolfstarved

  1. Another Sirius/James shipper! I love my James/Lily, but I adore Marauder slash. Any combination of James/Sirius/Remus makes me happy. 🙂 They just love each other so much. Of course, I also love James shipped with almost anyone.

      • I am a James fan, and a Marauder fan. I think they’re highly-flawed characterizations make for a fascinating story. I will have to look through my bookmarks since I’ve been lacking with fic recently, but I do have one recommendation that should keep you busy for a while.

        I’m not sure if you’ve heard of it, but if you like good, solid Marauder characterization, you’ll love it. The story takes the “What if Sirius was Secret Keeper?” question and makes a series based off of it. It’s brilliant and I read it at least once a year (I’m about to start reading it again).

        Here’s the link:
        http://www.fanfiction.net/s/1248431/1/Promises-Unbroken

        I have ebook copies of it that I’ve downloaded to read on my phone and/or Kindle, so if you’d like that send me an e-mail and I can send it to you.

Leave a Reply

